• Menu
  • Menu

Abbeygormacan, Co. Galway in the 1840s

ABBEYGORMAGAN, a parish, in the union of Ballinasloe, partly in the barony of Leitrim, but chiefly in that of Longford, county of Galway, and province of Connaught, 8 1/4 miles (W. by N.) from Eyrecourt, on the road to Loughrea; containing 2930 inhabitants. This place, called also Monaster O’Gormagan, or de Via Nova, derives its name from a monastery founded here for canons regular of the order of St. Augustine, and dedicated to the Blessed Virgin, by O’Gormagan, head of that sept: at the dissolution the monastery was granted by Henry VIII. to Ulick, first Earl of Clanricarde. The parish comprises 11,757 1/4 statute acres, of which about one-third is arable. It is in the diocese of Clonfert, the rectory is partly appropriate to the see, the deanery, and the archdeaconry, and to the prebends of Fenore, Kilquaine and Kilteskill, in the cathedral church of St. Brandon, Clonfert, and partly united with the vicarage, which forms a portion of the union of Kiltormer. The tithe rent charge is £164, of which £81 are payable to the incumbent. In the Roman Catholic divisions Abbeygormagan is the head of a district, comprising also the parish of Killoran, in which there is a chapel : that for this parish is situated at Mullagh.

Extract from: Lewis – A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland

Did you find this helpful?

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *